This will flag comments for moderators to take action.

A discussion to stoke your writing fire.
Posted: 6/10/2009 9:45 AM PDT
thanks for your help both of you!!!! I feel much better now and i feel i can make a start! :)
Sign-Up or Login to Reply

Posted: 5/4/2009 8:28 PM PDT
Try thinking up who you want your main characters to be. Their family, their personality, their past, what they need, what they fear, who they rely on, etc. Then, think of where the story will start. Think of your character's motives - where are they now? Where do you want them to get to by the end? Who do you want them to meet? Where do you want them to go? What lessons will they learn? How will their experiences change them? Maybe write out the beginning and the end, and then work to the middle. You don't have to write it completely chronologically. The best thing to remember is that it isn't something that's going to happen in a day. I've been working on my story for five years and it still isn't done. Seriously. When you have the right one, you'll feel it. Also, whatever you write isn't set in stone. You can edit it a million times. If you think your character is going one direction, and half way through they switch, that's fine. It's your story; you can do with it what you want. Writing is a completely free flowing process. It changes from story to story and from author to author. If the story isn't working, take a break from it and come back later. I experienced a lot of writer's block myself (remember, five years...). If you truely feel the characters and their story, you will finish it. Just believe in yourself, and in them.

Posted: 4/29/2009 7:53 PM PDT