This will flag comments for moderators to take action.

A discussion to stoke your writing fire.
Posted: 10/5/2008 12:47 AM PDT
The phrase was 'he lived, he died." If I wasn't very clear. Sorry!
Sign-Up or Login to Reply

Posted: 10/5/2008 12:46 AM PDT
I suppose one thing that sticks in my mind that I use often but not always (who am I kidding, I am an unknown author that titles when a work is complete and in my eyes it is never done...lol) To the point the crowd yells! There is a phrase I love until the end of time. I will start with the begining and in the end you will see the phrase and it's importance. A biography about a man who was born in 1982, Sir Robbert Lake. He lived in NewCastle, Somewhere and was the father of three beautiful children raised in a traditional fashion. He died on October 9, 2008. (what a life span!) So here is what you do. CUT it. Go through the wording and cut words that are useless. The, Of, and are my favorites to cut. Biography about a man born 1982, Sir Robbert Lake. He lived in Newcastle, Somewhere, was father of three beautiful children raised a traditional fashion. He died October 9, 2008. I am going to skip to the point because this process can take time. You cut and cut and cut. Determine how you would describe your story as best you can, using only the most important facts. Biography is not important, you are reading that, CUT. Where he lived does not matter in comparison to his children, CUT, Traditional Fashion pales compared to his death. CUT. Dates do not really have importance, CUT So you cut and you cut and you cut and you get a the very discription. All you get in the end is the bare bones most important part of the whole thing. Sir Robbert Lake. He lived. He died. That is it. Does it make a very interesting book? For a biography...it could. It is straight to the point. Anyone picking up the book knows who it is of and what it is of. He lived and died, this book is about Lake. Perhaps I am just mad. I don't recall where