This will flag comments for moderators to take action.

A discussion to stoke your writing fire.
Posted: 9/22/2008 1:49 PM PDT
As a best-selling author, I hope I can help, otherwise it doesn't say much about my work :). I usually let the manuscript sit around for a good amount of time, about four weeks or so for me, so that it's completely cleared from my mind. Lock it away into a box and give the key to a friend if you have you. Everyone will at first think that the thing they've worked so hard on will be of great-ish quality, while if you forget about it for a while and have the chance for a clean impression of it, you will catch your mistakes. If you can't stand to put it away for so long, pick up a hobby or even start on a new book, you need to get your mind off of it. If you still remember it all, your brain will be searching for what you write when you read it. After your break, go through and look at it from a different angle. Perhaps re-write some scenes, change some plot points, etc. Make sure that the character's have depth and would actually do the things they do. Make the dialogue believable. I just saw the thread and thought I'd post something quick. If I have time later, I'll go more in-depth about it. Good luck! -J.T. Manis
Sign-Up or Login to Reply

Posted: 9/22/2008 4:21 AM PDT
You could actually keep editing forever. There has to come a point where you "let go" of your baby creation and let it loose into the world so that it can take on its own identity. having said that I've always found it useful to leave writing to rest a few days, weeks... and then come back, a chapter at a time and edit for sntax and vocabulary. I tend to write really complex sentences and repeat myself if I'm not careful. I agree that it's a mix of what people say in feedback and what you instinctively feel yourself.

Posted: 9/21/2008 10:44 PM PDT